Women in Engineering

Ok, lets start straight to the point. I have been shocked by the stats lately, at the moment only 9% of the entire engineering workforce in the UK are female! Also only 6% of registered engineers and technicians are women. This is the lowest percentage in the whole of Europe, and women account for only 3.8% of all engineering apprenticeships and 1.7% of construction skills.

Frankly, as an engineering student myself this doesn’t surprise me, I don’t attend a massive college but I am the only girl in my class and one of only three girls across my entire curriculum area. 20% of physics and engineering students at A level are female and this has not changed in 25 years! despite the recent campaigns to encourage more women into the industry. Female and male engineering and technology students express similar levels of intent to work in their respective fields, but 66.2% of the men and only 47.4% of the women graduates in 2011 went on to work in engineering and technology.

Being a girl not entirely sure what I wanted to do as an adult entering in to a world full of guys was rather intimidating to start with but once I got into the swing of it and found my place among things I found that I really enjoyed it, yes its tough but it is worth it. I started to become quite passionate about it but didn’t have a single girl who shared my passions.

But I am not longer a girl in a mans world, I am going to be an innovator in and ever changing society, I hope to encourage other girls to do the same weather your still deciding what you want to do or just fancy a career change. Engineering is not just cars and electrics, wearing hard hats and getting your hands all greasy, there’s so much variation and diversity of things to do and the people you meet are amazing and always there to help.

If you would like to join, help out, or for more information visit the links below!

for a quick look and some options available have a read of this short PDF on the Generation XX outreach, there is a lot of useful information : http://www.wes.org.uk/sites/default/files/u82/GenerationXX%20lo%20res%20Final.pdf

Fortunately there are many campaigns to look at online for support, encouragement, facts, other female engineers, to help with studying and to get involved. I and currently a member of the women’s engineering society (WES) visit their website to find out more here: http://www.wes.org.uk/

I am also a member of the WISE campaign, go check them out: https://www.wisecampaign.org.uk/

More statistics and sources here: http://www.wes.org.uk/statistics

Remember you are beautiful

Hakuna Matata

Leave a Reply

